San Diego success

Much was accomplished at NRCA's 117th Annual Convention and Exhibit

Despite some inclement weather, San Diego proved to be a beautiful backdrop to NRCA's 117th Annual Convention and Exhibit, which was held Feb. 22-25. Overlooking the San Diego Bay, the San Diego Convention Center, the site of NRCA's trade show, drew about 6,000 attendees and 320 exhibiting companies. During three days of visiting the trade show and four days of educational sessions and special events, convention attendees gained knowledge about how to improve their businesses. In addition, the trade show caught the attention of a local news station, which broadcast an interview with NRCA President John Gooding, chairman of the board for Gooding Simpson & Mackes, Ephrata, Pa., on the trade-show floor.

Following are some highlights from the convention.

Awards, awards

During the Opening Luncheon sponsored by Johns Manville, Denver, on Feb. 23, NRCA honored some of the industry's best. First, winners of NRCA's 2004 Annual Gold Circle Awards were announced. NRCA created the Gold Circle Awards in 1995 to recognize industry professionals for outstanding contributions to the roofing industry in the following categories: workmanship—low-slope, workmanship—steep-slope, innovative solutions in new construction, innovative solutions in reroofing, service to the community and service to the industry.