Technical Elements

Manufacturers LEED the way

The U.S. Green Building Council's (USGBC's) Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Rating Systemâ„¢ is a voluntary, consensus-based standard for developing high-performance green (sustainable) buildings. A building's design must achieve a minimum number of points to attain various levels of LEED certification.

There are six LEED categories; however, roofing-related points realistically most often are earned in three categories: Sustainable Sites, Energy and Atmosphere, and Materials and Resources.

Following is a brief discussion of these categories, how potential points may be earned and a reference to a limited number of manufacturers who promote their products for the applicable LEED points.

Please note the list of manufacturers is not comprehensive, and inclusion of a manufacturer in this article does not imply endorsement by NRCA or Professional Roofing.

Log in or register for FREE access to this article and other Professional Roofing online content.

Not a user?

Register now for free access
  • Full access to every article
  • Online Web exclusive information
  • Photo gallery
  • Breaking news
  • Online classified ads

Already a user?

User name:



Forgot Your Password?