April 2007

Manufacturers LEED the way | Technical Elements

Technical Elements not ratednot ratednot ratednot ratednot rated

Manufacturers LEED the way

by Joan P. Crowe, AIA
Be the first to comment

The U.S. Green Building Council's (USGBC's) Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Rating System™ is a voluntary, consensus-based standard for developing high-performance green (sustainable) buildings. A building's design must achieve a minimum number of points to attain various levels of LEED certification.

There are six LEED categories; however, roofing-related points realistically most often are earned in three categories: Sustainable Sites, Energy and Atmosphere, and Materials and Resources.

Following is a brief discussion of these categories, how potential points may be earned and a reference to a limited number of manufacturers who promote their products for the applicable LEED points.

Please note the list of manufacturers is not comprehensive, and inclusion of a manufacturer in this article does not imply endorsement by NRCA or...

Web exclusive: Click below for more information.
Manufacturers that promote their products for applicable LEED points

To read the article in its entirety, please log in or register (registration is free).

Log in or register for FREE access to this article and other Professional Roofing online content.

Not a professionalroofing.net user?

Register now for free access
  • Full access to every article
  • Online Web exclusive information
  • Photo gallery
  • Breaking news
  • Online classified ads

Already a professionalroofing.net user?

Log in now

User name:



Login help
Click here to have your user name and password emailed to you.

Comments (0) Login to post a comment or rating
There are no comments posted.