December 2011

Changes in roofing requirements

Changes in roofing requirements 5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars

The 2012 I-codes will affect roofing practices

by Mark S. Graham
Be the first to comment

Earlier this year, the International Code Council (ICC) updated its model codes, commonly referred to as I-codes. ICC intends for the latest edition of the I-codes to be adopted by jurisdictions beginning in 2012. Because these new editions contain numerous roofing-related changes, you should pay close attention to the 2012 I-codes.


Currently, the I-codes consist of 13 model codes addressing a variety of regulatory topics. Most roofing professionals are most familiar with ICC's International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings (IRC), and International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), which address most buildings and structures, one- and two-family residential buildings, and buildings' minimum thermal insulation requirements, respectively. Other I-codes address topics such as fire prevention, plumbing, mechanical systems and building site zoning.

I-codes are published on a three-year cycle. For example, the IBC and IRC initially were published in 2000 and revised editions were published in...

To read the article in its entirety, please log in or register (registration is free).

Log in or register for FREE access to this article and other Professional Roofing online content.

Not a user?

Register now for free access
  • Full access to every article
  • Online Web exclusive information
  • Photo gallery
  • Breaking news
  • Online classified ads

Already a user?

Log in now

User name:



Login help
Click here to have your user name and password emailed to you.

Comments (0) Login to post a comment or rating
There are no comments posted.