Gov. Sam Brownback (R-Kan.) has signed into law the Kansas
Roofing Contractor Registration Act, which requires residential and
commercial roofing contractors to register with the state of
Kansas. The act will become part of the Consumer Protection Act,
which is administered and enforced by the attorney general. The act
also will create a registry in the office of the attorney
To obtain a roofing registration certificate under the act, an
applicant must be at least 18 years old and provide a statement of
experience and qualifications; a copy of certificate of liability
insurance of no less than $500,000; proof that workers'
compensation coverage is satisfactory under the workers'
compensation act or an affidavit of exemption or self-insurance as
authorized pursuant to the workers' compensation act; contact
information for the roofing contractor; and other information that
may be requested by the attorney general.
The law went into effect July 1 and provides for certain
statements of affirmation by the applicant, sets maximum applicant
fees, outlines renewal requirements and details when...
Log in or register for FREE access to this article and other Professional Roofing online content.