Changes in roofing requirements

The 2012 I-codes will affect roofing practices

Earlier this year, the International Code Council (ICC) updated its model codes, commonly referred to as I-codes. ICC intends for the latest edition of the I-codes to be adopted by jurisdictions beginning in 2012. Because these new editions contain numerous roofing-related changes, you should pay close attention to the 2012 I-codes.


Currently, the I-codes consist of 13 model codes addressing a variety of regulatory topics. Most roofing professionals are most familiar with ICC's International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings (IRC), and International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), which address most buildings and structures, one- and two-family residential buildings, and buildings' minimum thermal insulation requirements, respectively. Other I-codes address topics such as fire prevention, plumbing, mechanical systems and building site zoning.

I-codes are published on a three-year cycle. For example, the IBC and IRC initially were published in 2000 and revised editions were published in 2003, 2006 and 2009.

Log in or register for FREE access to this article and other Professional Roofing online content.

Not a user?

Register now for free access
  • Full access to every article
  • Online Web exclusive information
  • Photo gallery
  • Breaking news
  • Online classified ads

Already a user?

User name:



Forgot Your Password?