Kansas passes registration act
Gov. Sam Brownback (R-Kan.) has signed into law the Kansas Roofing Contractor Registration Act, which requires residential and commercial roofing contractors to register with the state of Kansas. The act will become part of the Consumer Protection Act, which is administered and enforced by the attorney general. The act also will create a registry in the office of the attorney general.
To obtain a roofing registration certificate under the act, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and provide a statement of experience and qualifications; a copy of certificate of liability insurance of no less than $500,000; proof that workers' compensation coverage is satisfactory under the workers' compensation act or an affidavit of exemption or self-insurance as authorized pursuant to the workers' compensation act; contact information for the roofing contractor; and other information that may be requested by the attorney general.
The law went into effect July 1 and provides for certain statements of affirmation by the applicant, sets maximum applicant fees, outlines renewal requirements and details when registration is not required.
Register now for free access
- Full access to every article
- Online Web exclusive information
- Photo gallery
- Breaking news
- Online classified ads