Kaitlin Bliss

What is your position within your company?
I am new construction assistant for Bliss Roofing Inc., Portland, Ore. I manage our largest-volume builders from start to finish, perform administrative tasks and oversee the maintenance department.

Why did you become involved in the roofing industry?
I am a third-generation roofing professional, so I grew up in the industry. "Shop talk" always happened at the dinner table. During high school, I worked part-time in the office doing filing, making copies and getting to know the daily tasks of the business. I transitioned to full-time employment after college, and the rest is history.

What is your roofing industry involvement?
I currently am enrolled in NRCA University's Future Executives Institute—Class 9. I am secretary of the National Women in Roofing Oregon Council, where we recently donated all labor and materials for a Habitat for Humanity Women Build event. I also regularly attend meetings of the Associated Roofing Contractors of Oregon and S.W. Washington. I plan to someday run my family's business as successfully as my father and grandfather.

What was your first roofing experience?
I grew up checking job sites with my dad every Saturday. We would usually end up at Home Depot.

What are you listening to over and over?
Any country music station I can find!

What is the most unusual roofing project of which you have been a part?
Bliss Roofing recently installed a raw cedar shake roof system on a treehouse for the TV show "Treehouse Masters."

What quality do you most admire in a person?
Dependability—it's important to me to stand behind my word and my company's word.

What is your favorite stress reliever?
Spending the weekend on the lake with my family and friends

What do you consider a waste of time?
Having to do something twice. I am a firm believer in doing something right the first time.

My favorite part about working in the roofing industry is...
Working with family! I have worked for my father for more than 10 years. My sister works for our supplier, so I send all my purchase orders to her. It's fun!

Big city or small town?
Somewhere right in the middle

People would be surprised to know...
I grew up riding snowmobiles and ATVs. My family has a cabin in central Oregon, and we love to take day trips on our side-by-sides during the winter. I got my first snowmobile when I was 4!

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I never had an idea of what I wanted to be specifically, but I did know I wanted to be successful, respected and able to take pride in myself.

What three condiments always are in your fridge?
Balsamic dressing, Taco Bell hot sauce and pickles

What do you consider your most rewarding experience?
Remodeling my first home! My fiancé and I bought our first house and spent more than a year remodeling it. We moved in just in time to host our first Christmas.


Be the first to comment. Please log in to leave a comment.